Slugger is offline Junior Member

Need help from former or current boxers

I have some questions for all the former boxers on this site. I asked these questions on a couple other boards but I'm sure you guys could help me as well.

I have been on a layoff from working out for 3 years (that means everything boxing,running, lifting). I just turned 24. Im 6' 210 with a gut. I have been drinking and partying for the last 3 years. I used to box amateurs but now I want to get back into it.

I just started lifting again for about a month and I'm sore as hell! Anyway my question is this: I have two paths I can take too get back into shape. What is the most realistic and affective plan...

Should I...

A) start everything at once (lifting,running,boxing,etc) and start light on all of them.

or should I B) ease into everything (just lift for a month...than add running... and than after a month of lifting and running than start boxing).

I am very sore right now from a month of squats. Should I start everything (plan A) even though I'm sore or should I do plan B.

Also,

1.How many days a week should I run for miles and how many days should I run sprints?

2)How many days should I work my abs?

3)How many days should I lift weights?

4) Does soreness eventually go away as your body becomes used to the training? For instance, a month from now am I still gonna be as sore after a squat workout as I am at this stage?

Thanks in advance fellas!

RockyX is offline Senior Member
    My Opinion in Caps

Quote Originally Posted by Slugger
    I have some questions for all the former boxers on this site. I asked these questions on a couple other boards but I'm sure you guys could help me as well.

I have been on a layoff from working out for 3 years (that means everything boxing,running, lifting). I just turned 24. Im 6' 210 with a gut. I have been drinking and partying for the last 3 years. I used to box amateurs but now I want to get back into it.