StangGT is offline New Member

What do I need to do to get a job in a gym?

I love to work out and I love to help others. What do I need to do to get a job in a gym/fitness center? Do i need certifications, cpr???

Thanks,

Ryan

sepjuice is offline Anabolic Member
    theres numerous certifications u can get,u should research them,..it doesnt hurt to be big or fit either ,,appearances r always a factor imo,,,

PrairieDawg is offline Senior Member
    it shouldnt take much. at my old gym half the guys they hired there didnt even work out. but diff gyms have diff standards

Tribex is offline Associate Member
    Like he said, depends on the gym. I'm a personal trainer, and have worked in a couple of gyms. Some plays, like ballys (that suck), will hire anybody off the street as long as they know what a bicep curl is. Other places will require a training certification. (NASM.. the best, or CSCS, ACES, IDEA etc.) This is only if you wanna work as a trainer. If you want a desk job of some sort, then all you need is usually cpr cert. Thats all bro.

Ok... Thank for your help guys.

Off the topic but can some explain to me what a 4 or 5 day split is in working out terms... Ive seen it talked about on this site but dont really know what It means..

Thanks,

Ryan

Tribex is offline Associate Member
    Quote Originally Posted by StangGT
    Ok... Thank for your help guys.

Off the topic but can some explain to me what a 4 or 5 day split is in working out terms... Ive seen it talked about on this site but dont really know what It means..

Thanks,

Ryan
    A split is how you organize the breakup of your workouts. In other words, when you go to the gym, you dont just do everything, like a girl. On set days, you work set bodyparts in a logical manner. For example, a four day split would be 1.Chest/Bis, 2.Back/Tris, 3.Shoulders/abs, and 4.Legs. I think the best way to handle things would be a five days split with...
    Day 1 Chest
    Day 2 Back
    Day 3 Arms
    Day 4 Delts