Terinox is offline The One & Only

Question About Grad School...

Howdy,

For those of you who are in University, or are familiar with the post-secondary process, I had a question.

If you get your (H)B.A. or a (H)B.Sc. from college/university, and then which to go to graduate school, can you actually apply to any program in graduate school? Does it have to be exactly the same field? Like if you majored in Psychology at University, then you can only study Psyc. in graduate school?

I had heard of people getting a B.A. and then going into MEDICAL SCHOOL, even though they did not major in Biology or some sh#t like that.

Could someone please clear this up, I looked online for some info, but it's more vague, and talks mainly about HOW to get into grad school, but nothing about what you're allowed to take and how the system itself works in terms of admissions.

Thanks,
    T.

audis4 is offline Eat, Sleep, Lift...Repeat!
    wow you've been here for a while!
    I am majoring with a B.S. in business and getting my chemistry minor. Plans are pre-dent.
    Depending on the school, check to see the class requirements etc. and talk to your advisor.

Fat Guy is offline Senior Member
    You can get a BA/ BS in anything you want and then you can go to any kind graduate program you would like as long as you have all the prerequisite requirements fulfilled. I know of many people who received there BA in one thing and did post graduate work in another. For example one of my bosses had a BA in Political Science, MA in Business (MBA) and a PhD. in Education.

CSAR is offline AR's Cunning Linguist