Long&Strong is offline Associate Member

My ego is in my way...

What's up guys (and gals)... It's been a while since I have posted a new thread, but I figured with what's bothering me, who else should I ask for advice from. Here it is: I have been working in my sales industry for about 10 years now and have been very successful. I actually own and operate my own business. Recently, my business has slowed to the point that I began entertaining a new job. As luck would have it, one of my best friends companies is just taking off. He knows of my talent and skills and asked me to join him to help it grow faster. I agreed because at the time, I really needed to make sure my family didn't suffer. The dilemma, with my buddies company, I am basically doing what I did 10 years ago when I started; also my business has actually picked up since I started with him. I am an EXTREMELY loyal person, I gave my word that I would help him (I think in the long run I can make a great living with him) but I can't bring myself to accept the fact that I am working for someone else. Plus, who knows how long my business is going to stay up... what would you do in my situation??????????

goaheadandhitme is offline Associate Member
    you can have a friend or a partner, not both (imho)

unclemoney is offline Senior Member
    I would say do whatever you feel is best. You'll always wonder what would of happened if you would have done things differently, but just say "fvck it" and move on.

As for the above, I would have to disagree, it's easy to have both. (that is if you guys are pretty good friends)

magic32 is offline AR-Elite Hall of Famer
    You've been in business for ten years now and undoubtedly weathered many storms, as well as become aware of the peaks and valleys of the industry. Based on this knowledge and the fact that your company is still growing WELL, you shouldn't dump it.