Rockin Z28 is offline Associate Member

got canned on the 4th day of my new job (lol)

So i had previously quit a job that I hated (I'm kind of new in the career game, but the job I had been working at for a while was not for me) and I found this new job on craigslist selling electronic stationery. It seemed so perfect in the interview process..a base salary(500 a week) and commissions through the roof sicne they said the company was sky rocketing. The bonus structure went 2% of commissions for 20k and below and 9% for anything above 20k, and if i wasnt making 20k a month then i wasnt even trying. So I finally got the job after 3 interviews and went through the training process..but i noticed their numbers werent adding up. They had 2 sales people already and the current record the company had ever sold in one month was 12k..but they told me the minimum was 20k a month? the job was a 1 hour commute 1 way and additionally 4 dollars in tolls one way as well. I called them on day 4 about 45 minutes before my shift and told them i would be about 5-10 minutes late(i kind of lost enthusiasm about the job anyways at this point) and i got there exactly 7 minutes late and one of the bosses came out and told me the CEO wanted me gone because tardiness is unacceptable (true, i agree, except i called 45 mintues in advance) regardless i wasnt going to stay at the job for very long but was curious..in the early phases of yoru career do you end up bouncing around a bit until you find what you really like? any similar experiences?

gixxerboy1 is offline ~VET~ Extraordinaire~
    I didn't. most sales job inflate their numbers. And their are sales jobs you make a ton of money but they are looking for proven experienced closers. No job that pay 20k a month is hiring a newbie

Rockin Z28 is offline Associate Member
    not making 20k a month..you would only make 2% of the 20k you sold in commissions..keep in mind the current record since the company had openined is 12k