Atomini is offline Banned

Why will US Army soldiers not discuss the election?

Just a simple question i've been wondering, and maybe this isn't actually the case and was isolated to just those I interacted with... but I am a Canadian soldier, this year I have gone on 2 big field training exercises in which I worked with Americans (both national guard). The first exercise was a mid-February 12 day long domestic response exercise up here in Canada, where we had several hundred of our own on the exercise, and 200 - 300 or so Army national guard from Penn state (I forgot where they were from exactly, but I do have patches I traded with them lol). The second was another 12 day exercise in March where we went down to Fort Pickett, Virginia (right next to the town of Blackstone). On the way down there (my unit drove down), we stopped in PA to sleep at a national guard armory there.

On both exercises when I was just chatting and shooting the shit with them, I tried bringing up the topic of Obama and/or the election in general and it seemed as though nobody wanted to talk about it... almost as if they were not allowed to. Nobody outright said "sorry, I can't talk about that". They instead seemed to skirt the subject and not want to discuss it, trying to avoid it as much as possible or whenever it was brought up. I just wanted to get a good outlook on the whole political situation from a US soldier himself but I just couldn't get anything, really.