yeahbuddy289 is offline Knowledgeable Member

Just bought all my parts for my AK build!

I have been putting this off for a long time because my girlfriend and I are looking for a house but thats not going so well...plus I have been doing well at work so I figured I deserve it . I ordered all my parts (80% receiver, polish AKM parts kit, tapco trigger) and most of the tools I will need. Still need to go to harbor freight and get a couple things but im pretty much ready to go. I cant wait!

djgreen is offline Senior Member
    Awsome I am am going to to the same but like you I keep putting it off. Are you going full auto and what kind of kit are you using?

No full auto, dont feel like doing all the paper work and leaving my door open to the ATF. I am using the polish AKM47 fixed stock kit with a head spaced nitrate barrel.

cool I am a CNC machinist so I want to pop my receiver in a mill and deck it out with engraving all the way around and mabe even do some gold inlay. I have a Romanian AK now and love it

Thats awesome... My uncle is a machinist so I will probably be having him help with milling the rails and mag well if need be. This will be my first build and my first AK. By the time its all said and done I will probably have close to $1300 into it between parts and tools. The next one will be much cheaper lol.

yea the tools are the most expensive, the best way to trim rails and magwell is with a small file and a dremmel tool. A good thing to get is one of those metal retaining plates the stock retaining wire is a pain that holds everything together is a pain.

what kind of finish are you doing? they have the Birchwood casy bluing kits and you can do it at home

I havent done much research on that yet... I have heard of people using hi temp engine paint and baking it on. I want it too look factory made though im not sure what they use?

GirlyGymRat is online now Knowledgeable Elite ~ Respected Female Leader ~
    Sounds like an expensive hobby! Enjoy!