Terinox is offline The One & Only

CANADIAN Tax Questions (Ontario To Be Specific)

Okay, I'm so stupid, i've been thinking of who I could talk to about taxes and shit like that, when I realized there must be tons of people online here that know their shit. Monster, I remember you said you were into accounting or something, and knew a lot about tax stuff?!

Anywho, here is the question, I'm a university student, and I need to know HOW much money can I make in total WITHOUT getting taxed on it? I read something about tax exemption if it is UNDER $7500 (or there abouts). They ARE currently raping taxes off of my weekly paychecks (about $50 bux), but I need to know whether I will be able to claim ALL of it back in my 2004 taxes. Yes, this is my first real job, so I don't know jack shit about how the "system" works.

Also, my job is a 35km drive, total of about 70km, will I be able to claim gas expenses on my taxes as well?! I don't know if this applies for summer job students as well, I know for others who have perm. jobs can do this, but can I also?

I REALLY need to know this info, because I wanna be careful, and NOT make too much money (if I can claim it all back), I'm getting lots of overtime, and if I CAN actually claim all my taxes back (if i make under 7500 or so) then I will quite the job sooner (if I make that much).

Let me know, anyone,
    Thnx

chicamahomico is offline Respected Member
    Q1) HOW much money can I make in total WITHOUT getting taxed on it?

A1) There are two different levels of tax. Provincial and federal. Your tax ceiling will be different for each of these mostly because of your status as a student. I'll give you an example of how my tax ceiling(federal) is calculated:

-personal tax credit( everyone gets this, its the basic amount you can make without payiong income tax ) ~7700.