Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Obs
  • 1 Post By diesel101
  • 1 Post By Kimbo Almond

Thread: Warehouse

Kimbo Almond is offline Banned

Warehouse

I work in a warehouse moving around heavy stuff (e.g. 100kg tractor tyre).

A friend of mine in the job had a reputation for using the forklift as little as possible. Three weeks ago, he knocked two discs out of his lower back. He can't even wash dishes now without needing to take a break to lie down for a while.

I told him to put in an insurance claim. An injury like that is compensated to about £70 - 120 thousand in the UK.

Obviously my boss and colleagues wouldn't approve of me encouraging him to claim, but in my opinion this is exactly what the insurance is for.

Anyone agree or disagree?

Obs
    Obs is offline Changed Man
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulky Runner View Post
    I work in a warehouse moving around heavy stuff (e.g. 100kg tractor tyre).

A friend of mine in the job had a reputation for using the forklift as little as possible. Three weeks ago, he knocked two discs out of his lower back. He can't even wash dishes now without needing to take a break to lie down for a while.

I told him to put in an insurance claim. An injury like that is compensated to about £70 - 120 thousand in the UK.

Obviously my boss and colleagues wouldn't approve of me encouraging him to claim, but in my opinion this is exactly what the insurance is for.

Anyone agree or disagree?
    Ot seems to me that is exactly what the insurance is for.
    Afterall you say he had a reputation so they knew he was lifting excessively.
    I look at things from a capitalistic standpoint. If some guy is trying to be a hotshot why should it cost the employers that he was less than smart about it?
    It still doesnt change the fact that he will have a long road to recovery and it is going to cost someone in the end.

I Suppose it is an ethics question.
    I can see both sides but obviously he didn't intend to hurt his back.