Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    saboudian is offline Senior Member

Any Americans move to Europe?

For a couple years now, I've been thinking about moving to Europe or something along those lines after I get my degree, just to see the world I suppose, do something different while I'm still young and I don't have to worry about kids or any other responsibilities like that to tie me down.

Right now I'm a 2nd year student at MSU (junior status according to credit total) and I have a 3.48 gpa in chemical engineering, so i'm pretty confident that I can pretty much find a job any where.

MSU has a study abroad program where they help set things up if you want to spend a semester overseas somewhere. There are oppurtunities where I can go somewhere(pretty much anywhere) and take a few classes there, or what I'm really looking for is going somewhere where i can get an intership because of how important experience is to a recent egr grad. There's a couple meetings next week here for internships abroad.

One is in Turkey(probably istanbul) and I don't know what i'd be doing, but MSU would set up housing and all that logistical stuff. Problem is that its not a paying internship, so it would cost me $3500 or so to spend the summer there and I'd be basically volunteering 35-40 hrs a week. Here's a LINK to more info about the Turkey internship.

The other one is in London. They would set us up in 'flats' which i guess are like really small apartments, but i could care less since it comes with a kitchen. And thats about all I know about that so far. I'm pretty interested in this one, but don't know much about it yet. Here's a LINK to some info about it. The bummer again is that this internship would also be unpaid, so i'd be spending $3500 to spend my summer there volunteering 35-40 hrs a week working.