redrock is offline Member

Punched a door, is my hand broken?

Before the story, i'll just say that is the pain isn't gone within the next 5 days, I will go to the dr. but i'm a college student and I really can't afford the bills of a dr.s visit.

Anyhow, I was on the phone with my dad and got really upset. I threw the phone and as I walked by the door in my room, I punched it. I cut my knuckles pretty good and I have about 50% of my grip strength. This happened on saturday.

There's no bruising and it's not excrutiating pain, just really tender on a couple of fingers and parts of my hand. I have full range of motion in my fingers, it's just that my pinkie and ring finger hurt a lot. Thoughts? Thanks guys, RR

BTW, I put a pretty wicked dent in a solid wood door.

chicamahomico is offline Respected Member
    Doesn't your college force you to participate in a healthcare plan?

Also take note: doors are hard.....

monster. is offline Anabolic Member
    Happy New Year redrock...breaking stuff huh..."hit the pillow" as i say... geez how swollen is it, thats usually how i can tell if i broke a knuckle... It should heal, just ice it or heat it if neccessary...

Quote Originally Posted by chicamahomico

Also take note: doors are hard.....
    I know that now! Where were you last week?

bornbad71 is offline Anabolic Member
    It might be fractured but I don't think it broke.........I say that because u have full rom with your fingers.......is there any swelling around the knuckles or your fingers........when I punched a metal framed door, my knuckles and hand where swollin for about 3 days with some loss of grip strength........mine was a fractured knuckle....mine didn't bruise either.

RageControl is offline Senior Member
    I wouldnt worry bout it unless it dont get any better in the next few days. usually when that happens to me its just another scar on my knuckle

Quote Originally Posted by monster.