steel10 is offline Junior Member

Preworkout dextrose

Curious to see what you guys all do preworkous (with respects to taking dextrose or something else similiar prior to lifting-- not anything else obscene you might do...). I will prob. also place this post on the the nutrition board (or whatever its called), but wanted to get some feedback from my peeps over here. I understand if you are taking creatine, it might be smart to mix it with dextrose 10-15 minutes before going to the gym, but if not taking creatine, do you still use dextrose before going to the gym. I just got some dextrose to use postworkout (instead of the grape juice I had been using for the last 5 years), but not sure if I should take some before going to the gym... I usually just have a glass of grape juice before going with my glutamine, but not sure if it is a waste... Anyway, I don't really think it is too consequential either way in the scheme of things, but just curious/paranoid by nature. Thanks.
    steel10

Dr.Evil is offline Retired Moderator
    dextrose causes an insulin spike. insulin shuttles macros from the blood into the muscles.

during a workout your body needs to breakdown macros in the blood for atp (energy).

if you have too much insulin you're going to go into storage mode instead of breakdown mode. this will compromise the rate of atp generation, thus compromising maximum energy output.

save the dextrose for post workouts.

Thanks Dr. E-- glad to see you back and hope you are feeling well (I am still rather new to the board, but had enjoyed reading over a shitload of your past posts). Does your advise also mean that you wouldn't take grapejuice or anything else alike preworkout? Also, when taking creatine preworkout, you mix it with anything? Anyway, thanks bro.

G Child is offline Anabolic Member
    Some kind of padded room...wearing some kinda white jacket...can't move...help!
    So what would you say would work best as a preworkout drink or meal?