toddze is offline New Member

Surgery/steriod question

I am having a laproscopic abdominal surgery to correct a problem I was born with. Basically they are cutting 5 little holes in my abbs to get to the problem. because of that the doc tells me i wont be able to lift anything for 6 weeks. and after the 6 weeks period it will be minimal lifting for months. The cut abbs is what will keep me out for so long. For me this is devastating on 2 fronts.

1: I am an avid lifter, I have been lifting for over a decade with no more than a week off at any given time, and I have never taken steroids , as I am somewhat genetically blessed, in terms of mass. But missing months without being able to lift will be hell. I cant stand to sit by and watch 10+ years of dedication and hard work go down the pisser.

2: My job is rather physically demanding as well, as I work in the oil field. I get paid hourly, but I really make my living by working over time hours. If im stuck on light duty there's no way I can get the over time hours. It will financially put me in a bind over a pro-longed period of time.

I have been trying to research steroids for surgery recover but all i am seeing is stuff about surgery's involving joints, which doesn't apply to me as mine is skeletal muscles only. So my questions are.

Would steroids help my Abdominal muscles recover faster?

Would I have a chance in hell getting my doctor to prescribe me a steroid ?

If my doctor wouldn't prescribe me steroids what would be a good steroid for me to consider, if I could find some?

btw I am 28 years old

The Bear 79 is offline Banned
    R u asking if steroids provide a wolverine like healing effect? Steroids arent the answer here bro. I would obey the doc's orders, they r in the position they're in cuz they went through MANY yrs of med school & training, not bcuz they gave it their best guess & got lucky. Theres good reason behind the orders, I would obey.

gixxerboy1 is offline ~VET~ Extraordinaire~