DiamondJim is offline New Member

Lack of Biochemical understanding

I have a masters in exercise physiology and am working towards a PHD. I am surprised and intimidated to a degree by the degree of biochemical knowledge on this board. As a exercise physiologist i have a crude understanding of biochemistry and in terms of the endocrine system just a basic understanding of the bodies hormones but not a understanding of hormones and their interaction to foreign substances....since they dont really teach roids 101.

So as a scientist looking to further my understanding can anyone refer me to a academic text that has its basis on science and not broscience. I have read William lwellwyn and am hesitant to take that as current dogmas since he has no academic presence and is a commercial writer.

-DJ

songdog is offline ARs TOP DOG ~ MONITOR ~
    We just refer to Bonaparte if we get stuck on something

Far from massive is offline Knowledgeable Member
    I would look at replies that site medical references then look to those references and try to find errors in the application of the medical reference to the "bro-science". Then take time to reinterperet the data and seek to modify or draw your own conclusions.

We have some very smart cookies on here, Swifto, Bonaparte etc. and on other sites you can find writings by supposed Dr's (no insult intended I just have never seen his credentials so I can neither confirm nor deny that he is a Dr.) so its up to you to find out who the smart guys are and then search out their writings and take what you can and discard, or take for what its worth what you are unable to validate.