JustAnotherDood is offline New Member

Talking First Cycle Q's for the Experienced Guys

Hi all,

I'm here on this forum because I've been lifting for about 15 years and feel like I'm getting pretty close to my natty limits, and I feel like I can't get to where I want to be on my own. That said, what differentiates me a bit from a lot of the other guys I see posting here and lifting in general -- natty or not -- is that I have a very specific look I'm going for, as opposed to guys who maybe just want to get big with no clear cut endpoint in mind save for maybe a goal weight/body fat %. Not knocking anyone; that's just what I see. To that end, I'm hoping that by sharing my goals with you folks here, I'll be making it easier for you to understand where I want to be and thus helping to suggest what it is I should do to get there.

My Situation

Height: 5'8"
    Weight: ~157
    BF %: ~ 7-8%
    Lifting Experience: 15 years, probably not more than a month off during this entire time

Details of Lifting Experience

First 11 years I spent doing what I read in the magazines, i.e. "bulking" (eating everything in sight a.k.a. getting fat), following the routines of the pros (9-12 sets per bodypart, 3 bodyparts/day for a total of around 30 sets a day), using too high of a rep range to see any noticeable hypertrophy (10-15 rep range), WAY too many isos/not enough compounds, and just basically overtraining and overeating and doing everything wrong...

By summer 2007 I was ballooning up, but I knew nothing about bodyfat. I just thought I was getting big, and liked it because people were FINALLY starting to comment on the fact that I looked bigger. All my life I've been around 140 in high school and not much more in years to follow. Well, I got up to 183 at my peak fatness and that is when I came to learn about bodyfat and realized I was getting way off track.