Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Times Roman

Thread: Complete newbie to this all and I didn't read all the threads...

NewandUnsure7 is offline New Member

Question Complete newbie to this all and I didn't read all the threads...

Hello All...

WOW... never thought I would be asking the questions I am about to ask. I am not unfamiliar to forums and the like, but I broke all my normal rules because for the last couple of weeks I have been reading on different sites and I would just get more and more confused. So, I am just going to post here and if you want to hate me and tell me I am a loser for not following the culture already established on this site, I guess you will do as you feel you must.

I am here because I would like some help, advice, and a general education on things that I know 0-Zero about.

Me: 35 yrs old. 5'10" if my back isn't hurting. 230 lbs (yes, I am fat and overweight).

I have always been heavier than I should be. The good thing for me is that I never look as heavy as the scale reads. The best years of my life were in 2008-2011 when I was down to 190 lbs and feeling great. I had a couple of life changes in 2011 that sent me back to an old way of being lazy.

Finally, after a few years, I have found my motivation for wanting to get back in shape (or at least better shape). I have no wishes to be massive in muscle. I want to lose fat/weight and be tone. I hired a personal trainer and have been working out for a couple of weeks with him. He has been great. I have changed my eating habits and I eat healthier. I am almost Paleo in diet. I do like sandwiches for lunch so I eat 1 slice of bread a day.

I would like to "encourage" my body to lose more weight faster, help build muscle more quickly, and encourage recovery quicker. I am not going to be working out 4 hours a day. I work out 1 hour MWF with my trainer and I try to do at least 30 min of cycling 5-6 days a week. I have been working up to getting to 1 hour of cycling.