Elliot is offline Anabolic Member

Some questions about Muy Thai/BJJ...

Hey my question is this.. I want to start of training in Muy Thai Kickboxing and Brazillian Ju Jitsu. Just something to pass the time. I have a few questions for some of you who already had a chance to do this.

1. Is it something easy to pick up for a total novice to martial arts? Or should i start with something else and move on to this?
    2. How many times a week should i be taking classes?
    3. What is the price range for classes?
    4. How long does it take to really start enjoying the classes?
    5. Anything else that I should know before hand?

Also is anyone here from NYC that takes classes? Maybe we can hook up and train together or something hit me up..

I'd really suggest focusing on one of the two to start off. Keep in mind that a job (or school) and lifting plus a serious martial arts training regimen will be very tough to maintain w/o compromising the other aspects. recovery is tough enough with lifting alone. Time will be reduced and nutrition will need to be increased to compensate for the added expenditure of calories, and that's not nitpicking if you're serious.

chicamahomico is offline Respected Member
    Determine what you want to get out of it before you start training.

1.) It's like learning anything new, some people learn faster others learn more slowly. If you have a high school wrestling background BJJ will likely come very easily to you, whereas a wrestling background won't make a lick of difference in Kickboxing, save for understanding ranges.

2.) Depends on how physically demending they are and, like einstein said, what else you have on your plate. I would not bother unless you have a minimum of 3 hours a week to attend classes. In the beginning anyway.