Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By armbar83
  • 1 Post By BITTAPART2
  • 2 Post By Times Roman

Thread: Basics boxing

Phildude is offline Junior Member

Basics boxing

I am looking to enter boxing, and I have no experience. I am wondering what some basic things are that I can do while in the gym to help me out, (lots of cardio, calenstetics, type of conditioning, etc.) before I join in.

Thanks

armbar83 is offline Senior Member
    cardio
    athletic core lifts-hang cleans, bench, squats, ect.
    get used to jumping rope
    get used to not being stiff- if you dont participate in alot of sports and only lift weights you might be really stiff, try to do calestetics relaxed and focused (if that makes any sense at all)

honestly, once you get in there youll see, its just doing the drills and sparring. thats the only way to get better at boxing. prepare for it like you would any other sport but maybe more cardio than normal.
    j3374 likes this.

sonar1234 is offline Banned
    I was into boxing back in 1998, we had some weights but we never really used them has a body builder would, it was just fast lifting more of interval training.

I loved boxing, 20 minutes jumping rope, shadow boxing, bag work, and lots of techics.

I am 34 years old now and i would love to get back into boxing, not to compete but just to get back in amazing shape.

Hunter is offline Grateful
    Quote Originally Posted by Phildude
    I am looking to enter boxing, and I have no experience. I am wondering what some basic things are that I can do while in the gym to help me out, (lots of cardio, calenstetics, type of conditioning, etc.) before I join in.

Thanks
    Cardio and core lifts and olympic lifts. Also how old are you?

BITTAPART2 is offline Senior Member