Anabolic_Minds is offline Associate Member

What is the difference between 32 and 64 bits

Could someone please explain me in simple terms what is the difference, i've got some computer knowledge and used to be kind of a geek about 10 years ago but i honestly don't remember much.

Anyway I've read about this but i honestly dont get it, could someone explain it to me please?

Thanks

JohnnyVegas is offline Knowledgeable Member- Recognized Member Winner - $100

omg i dont get it honestly im a bit slow today with computer hardware.
    say for example windows 32 and 64, what would the difference be?

|2ogue is offline Junior Member
    It is to do with the computers memory addressing abilitys. A 32 bit operating system such as Windows can only access 4GB of memory (not hard drive memory, just the computers internal memory). However the graphics system on any pc or laptop has some memory for itself, so the max RAM memory that a 32 bit windows could address is 3.5GB. A 64 bit operating system can access many many times more, enabling computers to have more ram memory. Any pc or laptop with 4GB or more of memory would need a 64 bit operating system to be able to address it.
    Imagine each little peice of memory having a number address, 1,2,3,4,5 etc etc ( this goes into millions) the 64 bit operating system can go to much higher address number than the 32 bit.
    There's a little more to it than that, but thats the jist of it. (PS, most software is still only really geared towards the 32 bit version,but nearlly all will still work on the 64 bit.)
    I have a 64 bit version of windows as my computer has 4GB of RAM memory plus the 512MB of memory that is on the graphics card. So in total 4.5GB.
    Hope that helps.
    (PS for those who dont know RAM=Random Access Memory, which is the memory on the circuit board of the pc that it uses to carry out tasks and operate software etc)

Necrosaro is offline Senior Member