thedawg is offline New Member

First post. Diet advice or suggestions

Hi Guys,

This is my first post but firstly let me say great site, I’ve been having a look around a few threads over the past day or so and you guys all seem really helpful so I decided to sign up to the site and see if I can benefit from your experience.

Basically I’m looking for some feedback on my diet and how I can improve it with the goal of consistent lean muscle gains, however I’ll provide a little background information about me first.

I started lifting around 2 years ago at around 130lbs (and really bad condition - with a bit of a belly believe it or not), I had about 11.5 inch biceps and just over 5ft 8 tall. In my first year or so training I was quite ignorant of diet, I believed I had to just eat and eat to put on weight and I ate pretty much everything, some good and a lot bad as well as the usual whey protein supplements and creatine. After about a year of training I found myself at 168lbs with 14 inch biceps however I had developed a large stomach (roughly 33 waist). I would say at this point I was consuming in the region of 2600-2800 calories per day.

Since then I’ve given a bit more thought to my appearance, diet and training and over the last 6 months or so I’ve gradually altered my diet and introduced light cardio in order to slowly burn off the fat at a rate of about 0.5-1b of bodyweight per week. I am currently 142lbs with 13 inch biceps and about a 28 inch waist. I consume around 1900 calories on a workout day and about 1400 on a non-training day (This has been tapered down over time). I’m not too sure on my bodyfat however I can see a slight outline of abs and I would say I am leaner than I was when I was 130 with the belly. I’m obviously still not happy with this however I feel like I at least have something to build on and would like to try and do so in the best way possible.