Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Khazima
  • 1 Post By Khazima

Thread: Daily protein intake

gettinbig30 is offline Junior Member

Daily protein intake

So my goal is to take in about 200 to 225 grams of protein a day. What's the most that your body allows at one time/per hour? If I'm trying to put on muscle, my assumption is that most of this protein needs to come as food instead of shakes? I am a chef and it's hard to eat after cooking all day, believe it or not. Thanks in advance for any information or experience.

Khazima is offline Knowledgeable Member
    It's ideal to get the majority of your protein from food but it's fine if you have to supplement a portion of it with protein powder. The body will digest and use every single gram you ingest, but the more you ingest the longer it'll take to digest. The main concern is how long between maximally spiking muscle protein synthesis, which the current literature points towards every 4-5 hours having enough protein containing enough of the amino acid leucine (3.6g) which for a whey protein shake is about 30g, and for something like steak or chicken more about 40g.

So there is not any myth to there being too much protein that can be consumed per hour that some of it will be wasted?

uhit is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by gettinbig30 View Post
    So there is not any myth to there being too much protein that can be consumed per hour that some of it will be wasted?
    Excess protein usually gets converted into stored glycogen. So there is a limit to how much is used optimally, and how much is 'wasted'. However, one reason why most prefer such high protein numbers when cutting for example is due to its nature in being satiating.

You can get by fine with 1-1.5g of protein/lb of weight. Anything more would be personal preference.

Is there like an ideal amount that can be taken in per hour?

Yes, supposedly 30-50 grams (depending on the source) every 4-5 hours.

BigMan65 is offline Associate Member