TRA
    TRA is offline Knowledgeable Member

Keto and keeping gains

So I know this topic has been discussed, maybe ad nauseum, but I'm in a real quandary and would appreciate any and all input.

I had been on keto diet for majority of past year with decent results but was looking primarily for fat loss and getting back into cardio shape. I started lifting again and continued keto.

I am on TRT and GH and saw good results from the keto with leaning out, but when I started lifting and stayed on keto I paid more attention to mass (size really, not big enough to call it mass) and noticed a decrease (or perceived) in some muscle groups, even though strength stayed okay.

I am not sure if I truly lost muscle or if continue fat loss just gave that appearance.

So I started test cycle a while ago with intention of lean gains and decided to switch to clean diet based on a number of vets stating it was impossible to avoid muscle loss on keto.

I struggle a lot with 45p/40c/15f clean diet due to cravings and food prep time. Keto had none of those issues for me. Cyclic keto with a once a week carb feed simply made me tired for 3 of 7 days and after a month I felt like absolute shite whereas with keto I have a sustained energy level.

So I would like to go back on keto diet at end of this cycle to lean up but obviously want to keep any and all gains in size and strength. Can you give me your opinion on this?

If you do not think it feasible, would a carb feed every 2 wks be of any utility?

I will be doing basically the same lifting and cardio as now.

Nephets is offline Senior Member
    In Dont see why you couldn't bulk on a keto diet. Are you increasing the calories on your keto diet if your weight is not going up, both on the scale and on the bar.

tarmyg is offline Knowledgeable Member
    Blog Entries