Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By GearHeaded

Thread: hypothyroidism help?

Ybk993 is offline Junior Member

hypothyroidism help?

I'm a hypogonadism patient.
    I've been using testosterone for 4 years.
    I had a blood test. hypothyroidism.
    I've been using t4 for 3 weeks.
    I have fatigue, fatigue, weight, edema problems.
    When do I recover?

Youthful55guy is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Ybk993 View Post
    When do I recover?
    It would be helpful if you posted labs (with their normal ranges too).

Ybk993 is offline Junior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Youthful55guy View Post
    It would be helpful if you posted labs (with their normal ranges too).
    I did not understand you

Marcus G is offline Knowledgeable Member
    When do I recover?
    This isn't something that can't easily be answered without knowing your blood test results and medical history. It is worth mentioning though that elevated estrogen (amounts plenty of other things) can cause all of the above symptoms. Another point that is worth mentioning is that alot of doctors miss diagnose thyroid issues by only testing TSH and T4 rather than testing T3. Also the most common prescribed medication is T4 but the problem is you could have an issue with the convertion of T4 to T3 so more T4 wouldn't change anything. You need to see an endocrinologist rather than a GP. Hope this helps and I wish you the best of luck.

KittyO1 is offline Female Member
    ^^ I agree with Marcus! More details on your blood work would help see if there is any other underlying reason for the symptoms. Also, it can take several weeks to months for the dr to figure out the right dosage of t3/t4 to get your levels right. Unfortunately your symptoms will remain until the right dosage is reached.

~“We believe that we are all saved the same way, by the undeserved grace of the Lord Jesus.” Acts 15:11~‬ *NLT‬‬
    ‬‬

Testlolblast is offline Associate Member