Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By Youthful55guy
  • 1 Post By Youthful55guy
  • 1 Post By cookwg513
  • 1 Post By Youthful55guy

Thread: blood work done. Need advice on how to proceed

cookwg513 is offline New Member

blood work done. Need advice on how to proceed

I've ended up here as a first time poster because of the "anti-aging" category. After some time of assuming I was just getting older I finally took Labcorp's comprehensive "aging" test (results attached) and am now reaching out for advice on how to treat my symptons. My major issues are the common "brain fog", irritability, etc. plus a significant loss of strength in the gym but most troubling, starting about two years ago my erections were no longer firm enough to have intercourse. I've spent some time on this site already so a couple of things seem clear. The foundation of my problems is that my free "T" is low but my total "T" is Okay. My SHBG is high enough to cause problems. I'm not clear on how any of these blood tests may reflect on my erection issues. My hope is that some experienced members can offer suggestions for solutions.

Some pertinent information: I'm 68 years old. 5'7" and 150 lbs. A little soft in the middle but not fat. I'm in the gym 3x a week and have been for many years. I'm taking a couple of medications that could be relevant: 50 mcg of Synthroid daily. 10 mg of Simvistatin daily and most importantly 5 mg of Finesteride a day for BPE. I've been taking the Finesteride for 7 years. My urologist doesn't think it's the cause of the impotence but doesn't rule it out either. But it does mean that I cannot give blood to keep my hematocrit in check.