Thread: 1st time at 40

fit@40 is offline New Member

1st time at 40

Hi everyone. Let me start by saying I have been poking around this board for a couple months (as well as some others) and have gotten a ton of great information from you all here. For that, I am thankful. I decided to create a log in today so I can finally post and get some feedback.

I am creeping in on 40 within the next 6 months and I told myself a couple years ago I wanted to be in the best shape of my life at 40. I'm coming to the realization that this statement is a little harder said than done. lol.
    Back in my high school and college days, I was an athlete and in the gyms pretty regularly. After I got married and had a family, the gym took a back seat and so did my overall health and appearance.
    A couple years ago I got back into the gym and my main goal was simply to get fit again. I'm wasn't looking to get huge. My workouts consisted of 45 minutes of all out cardio with about 20 minutes of weights. After about a year and a half, I felt stronger, and was in better shape but I just couldn't get rid of the extra fat around my belly, which was a direct result of my diet.

About 2 months ago I picked up p90x. For the last 2 months, I've been following a very strict diet and have been going through the p90x workout pretty religiously. I'll miss a day every now and then but for the most part, I'm balls out on the workouts 4-5 times a week (although the program wants me to go 6 days a week). Although I have had some positive results in the last 6 weeks I am looking for that little extra push to get me to where I want to go. After all, I am almost 40 and my body just isn't as responsive as it used to be.

That brings me to this post. Let me outline my stats and goals and then get to my point.

39 years old
    5'11" - 205lbs
    Average build
    I do a high rep workout with alternating days of weights and ballistic stretch (p90x)