chris66 is offline New Member

Shoulder rehab/Home workout routine + diet

So a little background before i start.. I started lifting seriously, that is not just flinging weights at the gym and calling it a workout, in September of 08 and went steady until Aug 09 til i hurt my bicep throwing a garbage piece of sod at work. I never went to see a doctor for proper treatment, and ended up taking 2 months off lifting because of it. I started back up in Oct 09 and felt weak in my right arm, so i did my workouts using db's not bb's so my left wouldn't be taking over. It helped for a couple months until i started feeling a pain in my shoulder. The pain got progressively worse as i kept working out, and finally in mid feb 2010 I again had to stop working out as it wasn't so much the pain i couldn't take, but it was as if I had a complete loss of strength in my right arm. My last routine I was doing tricep extensions on the pulley, and with starting weight i could not complete 4 reps, where as my left I had done 12 like cake.

I started doing some research and found that when i hurt my bicep and did not repair it, the damage could spread up to your shoulder joint and cause damage there. I layed off the weights for another couple months and when I tried to come back the same thing was happening, and so I have been off again since april just trying to let the shoulder heal.

It's been enough time now, and so I've started training/rehab with a goal of being back in the gym lifting by Oct 13. I set up a 9 week program(as of Aug 11) to get myself and my shoulder back fit for the gym, started a fresh diet to get back in routine, and now want to hear some opinions on what I have layed out.

Currently age: 20 5'10 @ 160lbs 11-12% BF

3 days/week of resistant band shoulder rehab that consists of 4 sets of different rotations, starting with 2x10 and progressively adding reps. My goal is to add resistance every 3 weeks and start back at 2x10 while monitoring the shoulder.