Thread: epidural

gixxerboy1 is offline ~VET~ Extraordinaire~

epidural

Any one ever had an epidural for a neck injury
    If people can't tell your on steroids then your doing them wrong

MuscleInk is offline Knowledgeable Member
    What's the injury requiring an epidural?

Brick is offline Member
    I thought they use it for numbing below the injection site. If it goes up you can lose control of your breathing. If it was for a neck injury it would have to be quite high, C2 or C3, thus numbing all the way down. Wouldn't local anesthetic be more applicable?

(I am not a doctor nor do I have experience on the matter. This is just my understanding of 'epidural')

LT75 is offline Associate Member
    Had it used for my lower back to inject cortisone. Also had it done to put a nerve block in before my knee and shoulder surgeries. It went into the hip for the knee and in the neck for the shoulder.

Quote Originally Posted by MuscleInk View Post
    What's the injury requiring an epidural?
    herniated disc in my neck. So they want to do cortisone injection in the spine

LT75 is offline Associate Member
    Quote Originally Posted by gixxerboy1 View Post
    herniated disc in my neck. So they want to do cortisone injection in the spine
    Had the same procedure done. Not a big deal honestly. Crappy thing is, it didn't help me. I do know a lot of people that have had it done with success and go every year to get it.

My buddy had one several months ago but it was in his middle back. He says it's been a damn miracle for him.....He was at the point where he couldn't train and they were talking about fusing his spine together b/c his disc was completely ruptured and causing him really bad nerve pain. He's not stupid about his training and avoids deadlifts and other exercises that would cause bad problems but he's been pain free ever since he had it done.

Btw, that needle is fvcking scary, don't look at it before they stick it in you lol