Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Times Roman

Thread: Elbow tissue pain during skull-crushers/dips

WMSuperSport is offline Associate Member

Elbow tissue pain during skull-crushers/dips

As my strength and determination has gone way up lately, I've been experiencing an unsettling pain in both of my elbow areas. It feels like where the tricep connects to the elbow, but I don't have knowledge on this stuff yet. I've talked to other "big" dudes at the gym that experience it too, but they just tough it out.

*MAIN QUESTION*
    Since the pain is not unbearable, should I just tough it out and keep going up in weight and frequency? Or should I almost baby it until I can get it healed or whatever? Even taking 2 months off didn't cure either my elbows or forearms, so I just tough it out for now, but sure would hate to really cause a bad injury that put me out of work or lifting or something. I work in the oilfield BTW.

Thank you guys so much for advising fellas like me out. I have very few workout buddies, and tend to just keep to myself! I'm slowly opening up to new "big" dudes at the gym, and so far I'm making new friends. But I'm the type of guy that doesn't believe everything I hear or read, but take in as much info as I can, and make my own educated decisions from based collectively of what I've learned.

Times Roman is offline Anabolic Member
    If you are experiencing pain, do not ignore this! it is your bodies way of telling you something is going on.

First thing you should do is change up your routines to avoid aggravating the problem.

Second thing you should do, if the first does not work, is to not continually increase the weight. Instead, change how you do the movement. If you slow down and focus on full ROM, almost moving in slow motion, you can actually decrease the weight without increasing the reps too much. This will help prevent additional injury.