Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By bartman314

Thread: Shoulder alignment

jrock1942 is offline New Member

Shoulder alignment

I am a 24 year old male 6'1". 185lbs 15%

When was about 12 years old I broke my collar bone something fierce. The bone healed over a few months but unfortunately, not back into it's original position. This hasn't really bothered me until I started lifting about a year ago. I've noticed that my shoulder sits slightly more back than my non injured side. It's sitting back enough that my range of movement does not match the other shoulder. I can feel a lot more muscle engagement on the side that isn't injured. This has caused my injured side to grow slower making my upper body slightly unbalanced. Further worsening the problem.

My question is, has anyone had experience with this type of injury? I would like to know of this is something that may be able to be re aligned with physiotherapy and strength training alone? Or is this something that would require surgery?

Any info would be appreciated

Thanks
    Jrock

NACH3 is offline VET
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by jrock1942 View Post
    I am a 24 year old male 6'1". 185lbs 15%

When was about 12 years old I broke my collar bone something fierce. The bone healed over a few months but unfortunately, not back into it's original position. This hasn't really bothered me until I started lifting about a year ago. I've noticed that my shoulder sits slightly more back than my non injured side. It's sitting back enough that my range of movement does not match the other shoulder. I can feel a lot more muscle engagement on the side that isn't injured. This has caused my injured side to grow slower making my upper body slightly unbalanced. Further worsening the problem.