Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By skid_ofshame
  • 1 Post By TRTdrew
  • 1 Post By Paulpaul

Thread: New From Canada

skid_ofshame is offline New Member

New From Canada

Hi folks,

Graduated high school nearly 20 years ago at 6'2 160lbs with roughly 20%BF. The very definition of skinny-fat.

Chronic knee and back pain since childhood due to a dropped navicular (I have a reverse arch), 20 degree S-curve scoliosis, underdeveloped knee cartilage, and ED (joint hypermobility). I've been doing various forms of physio/"rehab" for as long as I can remember.

Tried lots of different pain solutions with little results. Lifted on and off for years with wavering commitment to diet, but mostly kept up the lifting part. Managed to get up to 200lbs without gaining much fat, but still dealt with constant pain.

Ironically, I worked in health care helping people rehab from injuries, but couldn't do anything for myself.

Fast forward to 2011, a group of powerlifters convinced me that I was just a weakling and needed a "real" strength training program. I bought into it and gave it a shot. Hit a few major sticking points along the way, but worked through them. Eventually I made the mistake and dirty bulked up to 265lbs at about 30% bodyfat.

The reason I ended up dirty bulking was because my strength hit a final sticking point that I couldn't beat. Tried multiple programs, all to no avail. I never used gear before and my PL buddies were basically telling me that I probably hit my max natural potential (which is pretty crappy, considering where my lifts were at).

My best lifts were:
    385lbs Squat
    405lbs Deadlift
    295lbs Bench

That was in 2014. I tried off and on to get back to the big three, but ended up quitting lifting altogether in 2016.

NOW:
    After 2 years of depression, the bug bit me again and I'm back at it. Been at the gym for a few months cutting all the dirty bulk fat and "not lifting" fat that has accumulated in the past couple of years.

35yrs old