wannabeme is offline Junior Member

New Member - Natural Limits

Hey guys,

First post. 41 years young. Been checking out the forum because I had no idea how far the AAS methods and knowledge have developed, and find it very interesting. I don't think I am ready to take the plunge and perhaps never will be unless or until the technology gets just a bit better or I feel I have hit my "genetic peak" and really really want that extra mass. For me the risk/reward profile just isn't quite there yet.

That being said, I am curious to get others' opinion on the limits of natural training. I have been training off and on for 4 years now. I have at times taken as much as 2-3 months completely off (not good), but when I'm "on" I'm in the gym hitting each muscle group 1x a week. When I started I felt quite fat around the gut and needed some lean mass - my stats were:

5'11"
    192 lbs
    26% body fat
    142 lbs LBM

After the 8 months of the old "3 sets of 10" method hitting each muscle 1x/week practically never missing a week, 45 mins cardio a week, along with a somewhat deficient diet of 129g protein, 140g carbs, 50g fat (and yes, cheating sometimes with a little fatty food but very little of my favorite cheat - beer), I was able to reach my peak fitness 3 years ago of:

178 lbs
    16% body fat
    151 lbs LBM

So I guess to other "hardgainers" like me, the positive note is that in the beginning, even with less than the recommended protein intake and very basic lifting, I was able to simultaneously add about 1 lb of muscle per month for 8-9 months, while dropping 21 lbs of fat. Since then, I have yo-yo'd a bit and now I'm at:

181 lbs
    19% body fat
    146 lbs LBM