Maverick_J8 is offline Member

400lb bench at a bodyweight of under 200lbs - Feasible?

I'm new to powerlifting so my question may seem too simple to some.

I've only been incorporating a powerlifting style training program for the last 2 month, during which time I've managed to increase my bench from 120kg (264lbs - stuck at this for weeks) to 140kg (308lbs - 3 plates a side). I use Westside principles.

I'm currently a lean 190-195lbs (fluctuates during the day), 5' 9", and obviously use gear. I also stay on year round.

Am I deluded to think I can achieve a 400lb bench (raw.. for the record) without having to gain any more size? I would like to stay under 200.

Competing is also not an interest of mine.

NVR2BIG1 is offline Banned
    Yes, thats very possible. But dont be afraid to break out of that Westside shit and try new stuff too. That type of training doesnt work for everybody the same

Quote Originally Posted by NVR2BIG1 View Post
    Yes, thats very possible. But dont be afraid to break out of that Westside shit and try new stuff too. That type of training doesnt work for everybody the same
    Not a fan of Westside?

BgMc31 is offline Anabolic Member
    Very feasible even without westside. I'm a huge fan of westside, btw. Most big time college football teams have guys weighing less than 200 bench over 4. As a matter of fact University or Oregon, out of their 100 players on the entire roster (85 on scholarship), 70 bench over 400lbs.

MACHINE5150 is offline "AR's Vanilla Gorilla"
    i bench pressed 405 lbs x 3.5 times when i weighed 215lbs and was 19 yo.. you can bench 405 no problem, with out juice.. you need to forget about all that WS shit, and google "add 50lbs to bench press in 10 weeks" i did similar programs at 17 & 18 y.o. and went from 340 to 390 to 420 in ten weeks on, ten weeks off and ten weeks on... so YES, i added 80 lbs to my bench in 200 days, naturally, BEFORE I COULD EVEN BUY A BOTTLE OF BEER