Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Tanner Chambers
  • 1 Post By Marc114
  • 1 Post By bigrich4

Thread: Grip

Black is offline Anabolic Member

Grip

I started to practice powerlifting about a month ago. I made the mistake years ago when I started lifting by using straps for deadlifting. I got nice and big and strong, but now that I am lifting raw, I am paying for it in the grip department. I know of several different wrist/grip strengthening exercises, but I'd like to hear some experience firsthand of what's worked for you guys.

satisfaction1822 is offline Junior Member
    Do deadlifts but hold at the top! And just count it down. I always do it wen I get to my singles reps and it has really helped my grip.

TheChosen1 is offline Member
    Trust me, bro, I've been lifting for over 20 years and SURE, I did all of my lifts (shrugs, deadlifts, pulldowns, etc.) with gloves and straps. When I was recruited into a lifting team (Team Mendy), I had to learn a whole new system. But in just 2 training sessions, I got used to training and lifting without them both. Now, I even workout at the gym without gloves and straps.

John Andrew is offline Member
    Mate,

It seems extreme but I went out on a fishing trawler for 9 months, working my hands all night and mending nets and working with ropes. It started as a holiday, I just loved the isolation.

When I came back I found that the least of my concerns was grip. Due to por equipment I use straps at the moment but give me a decent bar and some resin. Anything is possible.

Good luck,

John

FapOLantern is offline Junior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by John Andrew View Post
    Mate,

It seems extreme but I went out on a fishing trawler for 9 months, working my hands all night and mending nets and working with ropes. It started as a holiday, I just loved the isolation.