X-Tank is offline New Member

Power lifting routine questions

I have been bodybuilding for 6 years and started doing powerlifts. I am really digging this powerlifting stuff since everything is blowing up. My real concern is with all these routines is there any way to incorperate a powerlifiting/bodybuilding routine and make it work or would it be best to do seperate routines like powerlifit in the winter/bodybuild in the summer months to let your joints recover. What I have been doing is just throwing in deadlifts since I basically do everything else but you would think in my 6 years of training I would have learned that you cant go heavy all year. So my question is should I make up like 12 week routines for deadlifting then take a break considering my joints but then again I would like my deadlift to get over 600 I am currently stuck there. Thanks for the help guys.

saboudian is offline Senior Member
    I think we were talking about this over on bolex. Anyways, i tried to incorporate WSB and BB into one split and this was the first split i tried

Day 1 ME Bench/Tri's
    Day 2 ME S/DL
    Day 3 Shoulder/Bi/misc
    Day 4 Off
    Day 5 DE Bench/Tri's
    Day 6 DE S/DL
    Day 7 Lats/calves/misc
    Day 8 Off
    repeat

Well, after about 3 weeks or so on this type of split, i found out that i was overtraining and i need much more rest and after going through it i realize why the WSB split is the way it is and why you shouldn't fuck with it. Anyways I followed the standard WSB split for about 2 weeks and i found that on my bench days, after i got done with bench work and tri work, i had very lil if any energy for any shoulder or lat work, so i decided to fuck around with the WSB split again and this is what i came up with.

Day 1 ME Bench/Tri's/Bi's
    Day 2 Off
    Day 3 ME S/DL
    Day 4 OFF
    Day 5 DE Bench/Tri's
    Day 6 Shoulder/Lats/calves/misc
    Day 7 OFF
    Day 8 DE S/DL
    Repeat