Muscle_4_Hire is offline Associate Member

How did you cut the cost of your personal training cert?

Damn, these companies must make bank on this sh--. Some charge 500 for you to study and them to feed a scantron into a computer... that's pretty ballsy.

Anyway, I'm gonna go with ACE certification just to get my foot in the door at my Gold's gym. I found all the materials I need on ebay for $30 versus $150 they want on the website. So, I gotta take this CPR course first to even be eligable to take the ACE exam.

As far as my own personal knowledge, I've read Schwarzennegar's Encyclopedia of BB, Mauro D Pasquals Serious Strength Training, Powerlifting by Groves, and a crap load of material free on the internet. I am no newbie. I'm 200lbs at 15% BF.

How long did it take you guys to study for your certification? How hard was it?

Thanks, just looking for the fastest route in here.

svarturer is offline Senior Member
    Last edited by svarturer; 09-05-2011 at 11:17 AM.

svarturer is offline Senior Member
    Last edited by svarturer; 09-05-2011 at 11:17 AM.

Muscle_4_Hire is offline Associate Member
    Cut down the cost... hmmn, ebay or get a shitty cert until you're rich.

ascendant is offline Senior Member
    as far as the prices for cert's, $500 isn't bad. i have the best of the best (NASM), and it costs like $800 or somewhere around there. i'm not sure cause my job paid for it, but it is pretty costly. however, consider how much you get paid as a trainer, let alone that you don't need to go to college for the pt, and you'll soon realize it's well worth it. just think, some people spend tens of thousands of dollars at colleges and don't get the kind of pay us trainers do afterwards. for us, it's merely a few hundred dollars initially and you're good to go, let alone not having to spend years in school for a cert either.