axedov is offline New Member

Training with a hernia

Hi everyone,
    just wondering ive been training for a couple of years now and recentley have scored my self a hernia not due to wieghts but lifting 3 motorbikes that had fallen down.im wondering is it still worth doing weights at this present moment,as i dont want to do more injury however i still want to keep the gains that i have worked for?
    Any input.

pip_squeek is offline Associate Member
    i have the same problem if its minor hernia its ok but if you had an operation then give it 12 weeks minimum before starting training again. is it groin or stomach?

juicy_brucy is offline Ripped, not bulky
    What kind is it? do you know. I had a sub-lingual hernia. I got it opperated on. before the opperation I kept training. It never hurt or anything... but i did have to reduce my squats and deads for a while after surgery... Most hernia's aren't life threatening and many don't require surgery. I did loose some mass after the surgery tho... PM me if you have any questions.

Mr.Akeym is offline Junior Member
    I've had a hernia in the past. I'm not sure exactly how I caused it, and never even knew I had it as I was in no pain eithier. But if I was you I wouldn't train no more, or if you do keep it light. I would get the surgery as immediately as possible and start the recovery process. My surgeon also requested what Pip Squeek posted as a 12 week minium to heal. I say this, because its important that you not rupture it further. I know it sucks! The procedure is very easy, but the recover process IMO was painful.

bigtomo1 is offline Junior Member
    ive got one,the only time it pops out is when i do abs,everything else im ok with,just depends how bad your hernia is i suppose!!

Maldorf is offline Senior Member