PrairieDawg is offline Senior Member

Suiting up for the first time in 7 years

So I'll be strapping on the pads and helmet for the first time in 7 years come this August for a charity alumni game for my high school team to raise money for grassroots football in my hometown.

The last time I played I was carted off the field in an ambulance after I completely fractured my tibula taking a chop block while blizting the quarterback (I played linebacker) when my cleat was planted in the ground. There was some grueling physio thereafter as it was a really bad break.

Been dying to suit up again as I felt I missed out on what could have been my best season and possibly a college playing career.

So I haven't been doing any cardio in the last 2-3 years since I haven't been playing sports (hardgainer, weight lifting keeps off the belly). I've been lifting 3-4 times a week for the last 2 years because of my job. Although I'm going to try to kick it back up to 5 if possible.

So here's my problem. What can I do to get into football shape? I need to improve my endurance dramatically. I'm going to be taking Maui Tai and Brazilian Jujitsu 3 times a week in a month or so. I figure that will help my endurance but I don't think that will be enough.

So what can I do? treadmill? wind sprints? I've never trained for endurance before, even in high school, I'm not sure how to go about it.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

CBigHBearB is offline New Member
    For me just keeping a constant pace running outside built my endurance but Sprint as hard as you can every 5mins. Not much of a workout but it does me good

Flamingo is offline New Member