Sfla80 is offline Knowledgeable Member

Couple Training Questions

29 y/o male, 5-10 176 would say about 11-12% bf. I have been trainging for maybe 3 years now, intense traing for maybe 8 months now though. I have a couple of technique question. Basiclly same question different exercises.

When doing a chest workout, i have always done and been told always come down to your chest and touch it. Rescently been talking to new people at the gym, very strong and fit guys that seem to know what they are doing. And they were telling me never break the 90 degrees when doing a bench press. So i am confused about this now, and not sure which i should be doing. I am puttin up descent numbers, 250 4-6 times on flat bb. 85-90 db on flat and incline 6-8 times.

The other 2 questions are about the same, but different exercises. Squats i am coming down to 90 degress, but watching videos of body builders and football players, their arse is maybe a foot or 2 off the ground. Same thing with leg press....i see guys with their knees almost touching their chests while pressing. Legs im doing, 315-325 squats 6-7 reps....presses 14 total caddies about 6-7 reps.

So i am just wondering if i have been doing everything right, i always thought every exercise i do with good form, but now im questioning myself. I have had great gain rescently. But still i want to be using the best form possible even if it means dropping weight. Any help on this would be great.

Thanks guys.

sully15 is offline Junior Member
    With doing bench presses, bring it all the way down to your chest and try pausing on your chest for half a second so your not bouncing it off your chest. Your not working your chest nearly as much when you only come down to a 90 degree angle. You can probably lift a lot more when you only bring the bar down to 90 degrees, but try not giving a shit about how much you lift compared to other people in the gym.