dominick2417 is offline Junior Member

Some back questions I need help clarifying.

I have been lifting for over 8 years and still am not clear on some things.

Until a few months ago I thought pull-ups were for lats, and everything else was for traps.

When I would barbell row, I would squeeze my traps, and not lats. Is that what that exercise is for?

Lately I have squeezed everything from my lats, and only shrugs and deads were for traps. Is this correct?

I am not entirely clear about these exercises because I can squeeze my lats and back for just about all of them.

I added a picture (that is old, and I know I am fat) with some ghetto arrows to help clarify some things.

1. I know deads hit traps, but do they also hit rhomboids? Is that the rhomboids I am pointing to?

2. Are barbell rows for traps, or just lats?

3. What are seated cable rows for? Lats or where the rhomboids arrow is pointing?

4. Even with pull-ups I can squeeze my traps or lats, wtf?

Informed advice is greatly appreciated. Most places I try to read this information from groups all these exercises under back.Some back questions I need help clarifying.-back-spelled-out-2.jpg

LatissimusaurousRex is offline Senior Member
    1) deads "hit" a lot of things, but the prime movers are actually in your posterior chain (reverse flies are really good at targeting rhomboids)
    2) barbell row prime movers are both traps and lats
    3) seated cable row is just another rowing exercise for your back, lats and rhomboids are hit
    4) yes, there are a variety of different pull ups and also how you execute it will determine what muscles your hitting the most

Also here's a diagram to help you with where your back muscles are located, you see the highlighted area is the rhomboid, and if you look to the left you see your traps (which are superficial to the rhomboid) actually run down the middle of your back quite a bit

Jfew44 is offline Senior Member