zimmaakaviper is offline Junior Member

REPS AND SETS?? i am a noob

Hi

so basicly im very new to weight lifting i just want to know if possible how many reps and set should i be doing??

all so should i start at high weights then reduce the weight or just reps and maintain weight??

so for e.x should i do

1st set 10 reps?
    2nd set 8 reps
    3rd set 7 reps
    4th set 6 reps

or should i revise this

so 1st set 6 reps
    2nd set 7 reps
    and so on...

and what is best for cutting and whats best for bulking

thank you very much and im soo sorry for beeing this noobs

xerxes333 is offline New Member
    It really depends on what your goals are. Since you are just starting out I recommend starting with 3 sets for 8-10 reps. Always try to get 10 reps. If you get more than 10 reps add a little more weight. If you get less than 8 reps drop the weight a little. When you're just starting out you will find your abilities fluctuate day to day and week by week because you body is trying to adjust to the new stimulus. Never limit yourself to a specific set of numbers. So if one day you finish your third set and you still feel good then go a head and do another set.

Quote Originally Posted by xerxes333 View Post
    It really depends on what your goals are. Since you are just starting out I recommend starting with 3 sets for 8-10 reps. Always try to get 10 reps. If you get more than 10 reps add a little more weight. If you get less than 8 reps drop the weight a little. When you're just starting out you will find your abilities fluctuate day to day and week by week because you body is trying to adjust to the new stimulus. Never limit yourself to a specific set of numbers. So if one day you finish your third set and you still feel good then go a head and do another set.
    thank you very much this is very helpful also would you work a specific muscle group each day so say arms one day,legs one day,chest one day,back on day or just do them all in one day??