Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Back In Black

Thread: AM Cardio Heart Rate Control

spykemalo is offline New Member

AM Cardio Heart Rate Control

Hi,

Just need some guidance.

I have been working out for a few months, entirely focusing on losing weight/cutting. I have been doing lifting and cardio on different days and have been doing ok with that.

I am changing things up now, doing AM cardio on empty stomach and lifting later in the day.
    From what I understand, I need to be at 65%-70% to stay within fat burning zone.

I am 23, so (220-23) * .65 & (220-23) * .7 comes out to my target heart rate being 128-137 BPM.

I bought a decent heart rate monitor, with a chest strap and all.

This morning I went on a 60 min jog.

Here is the part that is confusing me......

For me to stay within 128-137 is EXTREMELY ****ING EASY.
    Its like the slowest jog I have ever done in my life. Something just 1 step ahead of a hard power walk.
    Now obviously I don't mind doing this, if it is effective. I just want to make sure I am not doing something wrong here.
    Is the "fat burning" target heart rate also that easy for everyone else?

In the beginning of my jog it was a little difficult to get it right because I am used to jogging with a much higher intensity, so it took about 15 minutes to adjust, but after that, I was able to keep it within 128-137 for the remaining 45 minutes, and tried my best to keep a constant pace.

I believe my breathing if fine as well. I try to breath deeply but not too hard....breathing in through nose over approx 4-5 steps, and breathing out through mouth over approx 4-5 steps.

Please let me know what your thoughts are.

I don't mind doing it this way if this is what truly works...I just don't want to be "underdoing" my cardio.

Thank You!

Back In Black is offline Beach Bodybuilder ~Elite-Hall of Fame~
    For most, the fat burning zone is fairly easy. For me it's a brisk walk on a treadmill with a bit of an incline.