navydevildoc is offline Associate Member

Beginner - SUCCESS!

Hey guys, first just want to say that this is an excellent board! I have learned so much in the last few weeks of reading all the great info here.

I am a beginner to weightlifting... I have been thinking about hitting the gym for a while now, but really got the bug when I saw a guy at the airport a few weeks ago who could have been my twin brother, except he had about 30 pounds of muscle more than me.... that's all it took! I can't get that image out of my mind.....

So now, here I am, dying to go to the gym. I have been reading about foundation exercises, put on a good frame, all that. I have been reading about different muscle groups for different days. But above all, everyone says FORM is what matters most. There is no point for me running into the gym, looking like a dumb ass and then hurting myself. I am no power lifter, so I am already gonna have to endure the "Ah, look at the little weights he has" looks. The way I look at is, everyone has to start from somewhere, and I can only get bigger.

A few of these posts have been great on how to get started (the beginner tips I have found here especially!), but it would be GREAT if there was a website out there that actually SHOWED the correct forms! Google hasn't been much use...

I travel 5 days out of the week for my job, so having a regular gym partner or trainer at first is out. I have to do it alone... I have the determination and self will, just need some guidance to get going! I have nothing else to do while I am sitting on my ass at the hotel, so I might as well put my time to good use.

Any help you guys can give pointing me in the right direction would be awesome! Mainly looking for good form, but any tips would really be appreciated!

navydevildoc
    Last edited by navydevildoc; 09-08-2003 at 05:24 PM.

saboudian is offline Senior Member