GrandmasterSpank is offline Associate Member

Question Squatting: To parallel OR just below parallel!?

Hi there. I'm pretty new to heavy Squatting; I've been using the Leg Press mostly until now due to limited equipment...

...What I'd basically like to know is whether it's better for 'overall mass development' to Squat to parallel or to just below parallel???

Main reason I'm asking this right now is that I've done a couple of Squat sessions, each time going to just below parallel, but I'm feeling as though I'm failing (always on the bottom portion) before my quads are really exhausted. Is this because my assistors/glute muscles are failing 1st!? Would I be better off by going to parallel in this instance, or is sticking with the fuller range a better option long term?

All input welcome! Cheers guys!

mick86 is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by GrandmasterSpank View Post
    Hi there. I'm pretty new to heavy Squatting; I've been using the Leg Press mostly until now due to limited equipment...

...What I'd basically like to know is whether it's better for 'overall mass development' to Squat to parallel or to just below parallel???

Main reason I'm asking this right now is that I've done a couple of Squat sessions, each time going to just below parallel, but I'm feeling as though I'm failing (always on the bottom portion) before my quads are really exhausted. Is this because my assistors/glute muscles are failing 1st!? Would I be better off by going to parallel in this instance, or is sticking with the fuller range a better option long term?

My understanding is that just below parallel is better, its good to work a full range of motion with most exercises in my opinion, plus the knee joint is actually most secure in a fully locked or full bent position so if you were worried about the health of your knees that's no the issue here.