1st Quad Pin Soon--Need 2 flex Quad or Relaxed OK? Question on Delt & General PIN que

title: "1st Quad Injection Soon--Need to flex Quad or Relaxed Position ok? Question on Delt & general PIN question"

The following 3-5 sentences is some brief background info. which you may find interesting.

Yesterday, I pinned my left shoulder. I NEVER felt the insertion or "penetration stage" of the Pin soooo painful!

It turned out, I had pinned a little TOO high upon carefully looking at the diagram I had printed from my computer. High like where the TOP of the ball of the shoulder is...Maybe I hit some fat tissue?

(I had been pinning my delts since August 2012 so that's saying much.)

Blood drooled down my shoulder and all the way to my forearm and even wrist. It didn't spurt out, but it scared me.

When I had tried to aspirate , I found it difficult and my hands started to shake. I DO have shakey hands. I don't know why. I am not an alcoholic.

I really need a better area to pin...with BOTH hands since I have shakey hands doing an aspiration with 1 hand will make my hands shake and add trauma to my PIN site.

So Im going to try the outer Quads with a 1 inch pin.

Spotinjections dot com does not have IMO good diagrams..

When I attempt MY 1ST QUAD INJECTION IN 2 HOURS OR SO from now, Should my leg be extended (flexed) or can it be relaxed? The guy in that aforesaid diagram is standing up and has his leg flexed so you see his quad muscles. Another pic shows a relaxed quad.

QUESTIONS:

1) Can I inject in quads either relaxed or flexed and it's a question of choice/personal taste?

2) How many inches from the "joint" (where the pelvis meets the leg) should I go down the quad, if I'm pinning outer quads, with a 1 inch needle? I think 5-6 inches and then hit the outer part?

(I know it depends, but I'm like 5 feet 10 inches tall...can anyone give a general number of inches down from the joint where the bottom of the ab (or pelvis) meets the leg?)