Anabolics
Search More Than 6,000,000 Posts
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    G-Force's Avatar
    G-Force is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London Baby
    Posts
    3,168

    my IPod is fcuked - can anyone help?

    for no aparent reason when i press play (on any song) it just skips to the next track
    and then the next one - until it skip right to the end of the album without playing any music

    i tried connecting it to my PC to update it but the "update Ipod" icon is greyed out and i am unable to click on it

    it was working fine yesterday
    can anyone help?
    Last edited by G-Force; 11-29-2005 at 10:54 AM.

  2. #2
    Smak is offline AR's Midget Beater
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    in your girls panties
    Posts
    6,597
    check out the ipod FAQ troubleshoot on their website. That should help.

  3. #3
    KingJames23's Avatar
    KingJames23 is offline Associate Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    190
    My ipod is messed up as well. Any time i try and use it, the low battery thing comes up. This after having it fully charged. I heard there was a law suit or something againt apple right now.. anyone know about it??

  4. #4
    chest6's Avatar
    chest6 is offline Banned
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    23,390
    Shit man I dunno. If my ipod messed up that would cause some serious problems

  5. #5
    G-Force's Avatar
    G-Force is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London Baby
    Posts
    3,168
    Quote Originally Posted by chest6
    Shit man I dunno. If my ipod messed up that would cause some serious problems

    tell me about it - i hate not having my ipod on the bus or train

    i looked at their website and couldnt find anything to help
    dunno what to do - i've got 20gb of songs on there that arent backed up on my hard drive

    sux

  6. #6
    Bigpup101's Avatar
    Bigpup101 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,282
    umm there is a way to reset your ipod, i believe you hold the pause and play button at the same time..that should work but you might have to upload all the songs and playlists you have back onto your pod

  7. #7
    tempbrit's Avatar
    tempbrit is offline Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    LONDON
    Posts
    678
    Definately sounds like you need to reset your i-pod. Read the instruction book and it will tell you how to do this.

    I also find that when I can't update my i-pod, it is due to the fact that I am using a different computer than when i set up the i-pod.

    I have had an I-pod, for over 3 years and never had even a hint of a problem. i could not live without it.

  8. #8
    G-Force's Avatar
    G-Force is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London Baby
    Posts
    3,168
    if i reset my ipod will i lose all my songs??

    i didnt have enough free space to keep them on my hardrive so had to delete them all

    by the way the play and pause are on the same button

  9. #9
    tempbrit's Avatar
    tempbrit is offline Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    LONDON
    Posts
    678
    I think there are two levels of reset. You can reset it such that it kind of just gets your software working and running again and then there is the complete reset, where you will lose all the songs. I am not sure though and you need to read the manual. You can send a question to I-pod and they will answer.

    Why in the world would you put songs on your I-pod and not save them on your computer? You can't get songs off your I-pod and transfer them to a computer.

  10. #10
    G-Force's Avatar
    G-Force is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London Baby
    Posts
    3,168
    Quote Originally Posted by tempbrit
    I think there are two levels of reset. You can reset it such that it kind of just gets your software working and running again and then there is the complete reset, where you will lose all the songs. I am not sure though and you need to read the manual. You can send a question to I-pod and they will answer.

    Why in the world would you put songs on your I-pod and not save them on your computer? You can't get songs off your I-pod and transfer them to a computer.
    i dunno
    i'm new to this ipod stuff
    i got it in hong kong so reading the manual is outa the question

  11. #11
    Icon's Avatar
    Icon is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    139
    Quote Originally Posted by tempbrit
    I think there are two levels of reset. You can reset it such that it kind of just gets your software working and running again and then there is the complete reset, where you will lose all the songs. I am not sure though and you need to read the manual. You can send a question to I-pod and they will answer.

    Why in the world would you put songs on your I-pod and not save them on your computer? You can't get songs off your I-pod and transfer them to a computer.
    Some people (like moi) use the iPod as a secondary harddrive so I just copy songs onto the iPod and erase the same on my pc hd.

    As for the original poster, resetting it by holding down the middle two (of four) buttons will not erase the songs. I'm not sure if you have the version with four vertical buttons above the spinwheel (which is what I'm talking about) or the more recent versions with just a clickwheel (no four buttons).

    Good luck, bro.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,896
    I love my Ipod Mini dearly, but it crashes more or less every 2 weeks...

    A simple reset and recharge fixes that

    http://www.werty.net/2004/06/reset-ipod.html

    Red

  13. #13
    G-Force's Avatar
    G-Force is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London Baby
    Posts
    3,168
    it is a second generation click wheel

    i have tried hte manual rest and it doesnt work

    i get the apple logo, then a folder pops up in the middle of the screen with an exclamation mark (!) on the bottom left of this folder

    then it switches off again


    i'm stumped

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •