Tobey is offline Retired IRON CHEF Mod

Training the Mind-A must read for all new commers

Hey Guys,
    I have read several post involving people who are just starting to workout and how interested they are in finding out more about A.S. Of course many of these newbies to the bodybuilding scence were flamed rentlessly. Replies such as buliding up naturally, learning more about workout routines and various other topics were addressed each explaining the importance, and none explaining how! I truley believe that mental preparation is essential to success in any field that you choose to take on. I have worked out for the last 15 years and I have been a personal trainer for the last 6. In all of those years I can recall maybe 1 or 2 possible instances where a new person just starting out in the gym had to quite due to a physical or medical condition. Every other person who quite(and there have been alot!) did so because they did not mentally prepare themselves for this endeavor.Think about it, how many times have we caught ourselves saying "One cookie want hurt, or I really don't need to do cardio today, or I can make up tommorrow in the gym what I missed today and any of the other excuses that started out innocent and ended up leading down the road to failure. Most of the time our minds will quite while our bodies are as strong as ever. Weather it is because we do not see the gains as fast as we would like to or because we are just plan bored it really does not matter. The fact is most everyone that I have wittnesses in this situation were physically at thier best or at least on their way to it and their bodies were willing to go yet mentally they lacked the enthusium and drive that they had when they first began. Why is that?