Tommy Gunn is offline Member

This past Monday I had my distal clavicle resection surgery

I'm 27 years old. I'm 6' 245 wth alot of body fat. I am a former amateur boxer (not that great, record was 2-2). I had a distal clavicle resection on my right shoulder where he removed 12 mm of my AC joint. I also had arthroscopic exploratory surgery on that shoulder where, in addition to doing the AC joint excision, they removed a bone spur near the acromion and scar tissue near the AC joint. I had no arthritis of the AC joint but my doc felt it was necessary to do the AC joint excision so if scar tissue were to reform or a bone spur were to develop it wouldn't aggravate the AC joint. So that's why he did the procedure.

I have been doing codmans, taking Motrin, and icing since the day after the surgery. On Weds. May 16, 2007 my doc removed the steristrips and stitches where the portals to the scope were inserted. He also took a post op xray and said the xray looked good. He said as of Monday May 21, 2007 I can stop doing the codmans and can start going to physical therapy for 4 weeks to get all of my ROM back.

I would very much like to get back into weightlifting and amateur boxing again. Here is the timeline my doc and PT laid out for me:

1. Monday May 7, 2007 had AC joint excision surgery

2. Monday May 21, 2007 (2 weeks post op) start ROM PT. Do for 4 weeks.

3. Monday June 18, 2007 (6 weeks post op) start rotator cuff strenghtening PT. Do for 4 weeks.

4. Monday July 16, 2007 (10 weeks post op) start light weightlifting. Do for 4 weeks.

5. Monday August 13, 2007 (14 weeks post op) start boxing training.