Mr. Sparkle is offline Slinabolic Vet / Retired

who here doesnt touch their chest on bench?

Wait before you make fun listen to this. I played baseball for years, 10 years and 9 of those years I threw wrong. My elbow was lower than my shoulder putting a strain on my rotator. Also I was always told when benching that if it doesnt touch your chest then it doesnt count. So thats what I did. So these two problems togther made me have some serious shoulder pain. Some times my shoulder would hurt longer than my chest. So I talked to one of the trianers any my gym. I work out at 24 hour fitness, so this one paticular guy knows his stuff, anyway he told me to go down to 90 degrees with my elbows. So basically stopping 3-4 inches above my chest. I have been doing this for 2 years now, and I have no shoulder pain anymore. So else doesnt touch your chest, or do you feel that its cheating?? Also I love those guys that arch their back so much that I could put a vollyball under them. I watched a lot of them the past few months and saw this. When they touch their chest their arms hit 90 degrees.... so pretty much we are doing the same thing. so what is your opinion>? am I a cheater?

-MS

scottninpo is offline Senior Member
    your trainer sounds like a real brain surgen j/k
    why didn't he just recommend switching to dumbells? i have had the almos exact same experience, with baseball and shoulder pain from benching, i switched to dumbells three years ago and haven't had any problem since, i actually go down farther with the dumbells than i did with the bar

sp9
    sp9 is offline MMA Competition Sentinel