B.E.N. is offline Member

Stretching muscle fascia = more muscle size/growth

I have been looking for answers to this for a while. No one can seem to know (or maybe they do not care) but I am curious about this. Muscle are surrounded by a fascia of three layers that culminate in the tendons in the muscle.

I have been discussing with physical therapy students that if you stretch the muscle fascia you are actually giving the muscle more room to expand or grow. We have all likely seen the recent study/report indicating that stretching is not what is was thought to be

Again...I was a finance student...so don't jump all over me if this is totally ignorant.

This is one article I have found...feel free to chime in with your thoughts.

When you think about gaining muscle, stretching is probably not the first thing that pops into your head. But did you know that stretching plays a critical role in building muscle?

Every muscle in your body is enclosed in a bag of tough connective tissue known as fascia. Fascia is important for holding your muscles in their proper place in your body. But your fascia may also be holding back your muscle growth. Think for a moment about your muscles. You train them and feed them properly. They want to grow and will grow but something is holding them back. They have no room to grow!

Because fascia is so tough, it doesn't allow the muscle room to expand. It is like stuffing a large pillow into a small pillowcase. The size of the muscle won't change regardless of how hard you train or how well you eat because the connective tissue around your muscles is constricting the muscles within.

The best example of this is the calf muscle. The lower leg is riddled with fascia because of its tremendous weight-bearing duties in the body. It is because of this fascia that many trainers have great difficulty developing their calves.

The solution: stretching.