BigD is offline Associate Member

Lower Your Cholesterol Naturally

Bob Myhal
    Have you heard the news? It's been all over the media. It seems a new study out of the Baylor College of Medicine has confirmed what I've been saying for a couple years now: herbal guggul extracts which have been used for centuries in India can indeed play a significant role in helping to reduce cholesterol levels.

Guggulsterones have been recognized and used in India for decades as a cholesterol lowering herb. Now Western science seems to be catching up with Eastern wisdom.

Tests performed at the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston show that extracts from the resin or sap of the guggul tree appear to lower cholesterol by targeting a receptor in the liver's cells called the Farnesoid X Receptor or FXR. This is potentially great news for those who are concerned with their cholesterol levels and are interested in a natural alternative to prescription medication.

Here's the details of the study directly from the Baylor College of Medicine:

Natural Cholesterol Fighter Shows the Way

HOUSTON-- (May 2, 2002)--Baylor College of Medicine scientists studying a natural product used in Indian traditional medicine for more than 2,500 years have unlocked the secret to its cholesterol-lowering success and possibly opened the door to production of more potent medicines.

Dr. David D. Moore, a professor in the department of molecular and cellular biology, and fourth-year Ph.D. student Nancy L. Urizar discovered that an extract of the resin of the guggul tree, approved as a cholesterol-fighter in India, actually targets the Farnesoid X Receptor (FXR). FXR is involved in regulation of the cholesterol by monitoring levels of bile acids, which are produced from cholesterol and released by the liver.